top of page
33901944_10217005637239872_1089144890983

small town nebraska

graphic design student

i travel sometimes

about me

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaekayla Ward

Tom(ay)to Tom(ah)to



I only have a month left in Europe, wait what? I can’t believe how fast the days are ticking by. When I look back and think about the past month and a half, I can solidly say that I’ve made some of the best memories of my life. The fact that it’ll be over before I know it makes me extremely sad, but I’m so thankful to have been blessed with this opportunity of a lifetime. Since I’ve been in the Czech Republic, I’m always noticing little differences between here and home and I’ve been trying to keep a record of them because I find it really interesting! Overall, I don’t think I ever really experienced “culture shock”, maybe it’s not that much different, or maybe I’m just an adaptable person – either way, I was really surprised at how well I adjusted to my new temporary life. Growing up my mom always said I was a “Go with the flow” kind of girl, and I think in this case that aspect of my personality has been helpful.


One of the very first differences I ever noticed was the fact that a lot of the doors open backwards. This seemed silly to me, because when I was back home I never really put that much thought into which way my doors opened and shut. Ever since I got to Europe I’ve been pushing pull doors and pulling push doors like crazy. I’ve always known that in America most buildings have doors that you push away when exiting, and that this is for fire safety purposes, so maybe this is why it struck me as so odd that many of the doors here are “wrong”.


The next thing I wanted to point out is restaurant standards. Back home I work at a restaurant, and I think this has influenced why I think how they do things in the Czech Republic is so weird. For starters, the servers aren’t nearly as friendly, because they don’t have to be. Servers in Europe do not typically work for tips. It’s still acceptable to tip, but people don’t tip nearly as much, and quite frankly I don’t think the servers really deserve it! I’ve experienced so much frustration and eye rolls from servers here, I’m sure they get fed up with foreigners but your job still needs done! Whenever I get a friendly server I always make sure to tip them, because it’s such a refreshing difference.


Driving back in Nebraska is something most of us learn to do sometime between the age of 14 to 16, maybe even earlier for those in rural areas! Our main way of getting around is hoping in a car. Here in Olomouc that is not the case. Some people still have cars, but it’s definitely not the norm. Many people take public transportation, which for here means trams and buses. In some of the other European cities I’ve visited they have metro systems as well, which I think I prefer because they are under ground and out of the way. I don’t mind the public transport system, and it’s been nice not having to pay for gas in a while! When I get back to Nebraska I’m going to be happy to have my car back, I miss the freedom of being behind the wheel and being able to go wherever you want to.


America is well known for being a country with religious freedom, and I’ve had the privilege of meeting people from all sorts of religious backgrounds. Which surprised me to find out about the Czech Republic was that it’s the most atheist country in the world. Evidently this is a newer development in Czech culture, as it was a majority Christian country in the past, like it’s surrounding European nations. I wasn’t expecting this and found it pretty interesting because I’m a Catholic and really enjoy religious discussion.


Overall, there are so many differences between here and home, but if there wasn’t I think I’d be disappointed! I wanted to come here and experience something new, and I’ve definitely accomplished that! I’ve really enjoyed learning so much about this wonderful place, and I’m excited for how much more I’ll learn in the next month that I have here.


I don't have many photos I think fit the discussion, however here are a few from my last couple weeks adventure for Spring break! I had the amazing opportunity to visit Vienna, Venice, Rome, Pompeii, and Split... It was something I'll never forget!



Megan and I in Vienna, Austria

Conquered the Pompeii ruins!

Some of the girls in Venice, Italy

Krka National Park, Croatia... One of the most beautiful experiences of my life.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page